QUEEN – The Platinum Collection

Queen are a British rock band formed in London in 1971, originally consisting of Freddie Mercury (lead vocals, piano), Brian May (guitar, vocals), John Deacon (bass guitar), and Roger Taylor (drums, vocals). Queen’s earliest works were heavily influenced by progressive rock; in the mid-1970s, the band ventured into more conventional and radio-friendly works, bringing them greater commercial success. It also became something of a trademark to incorporate more diverse and innovative styles in their music, exploring the likes of vaudeville, gospel music, electronic music and funk.

The Platinum Collection is a box set by Queen which comprises their three greatest hits albums, Greatest Hits, Greatest Hits II and Greatest Hits III. A booklet with song facts and images is also included with the three CD set. The album’s US release was delayed until September 2002 and featured the 2001 Japanese release remastered versions of Greatest Hits Volumes 1 and 2 on the US and Canadian versions of The Platinum Collection.

The album peaked at #2 in the UK charts, being blocked off the top spot by Moby’s album 18.

It is the highest charting box set in U.S. history.

Disc one: Greatest Hits (1981 UK version)
No. |    Title   |  Writer(s)   |  Original album   |  Length
1.     “Bohemian Rhapsody”       Freddie Mercury     A Night at the Opera 5:55
2.     “Another One Bites the Dust”       John Deacon     The Game     3:36
3.     “Killer Queen”       Mercury     Sheer Heart Attack 2:57
4.     “Fat Bottomed Girls”       Brian May     Jazz     3:15
5.     “Bicycle Race”       Mercury     Jazz     3:01
6.     “You’re My Best Friend”       Deacon     A Night at the Opera     2:52
7.     “Don’t Stop Me Now”       Mercury     Jazz     3:29
8.     “Save Me”       May     The Game     3:48
9.     “Crazy Little Thing Called Love”       Mercury     The Game     2:42
10.     “Somebody to Love”       Mercury     A Day at the Races     4:56
11.     “Now I’m Here”       May     Sheer Heart Attack     4:10
12.     “Good Old-Fashioned Lover Boy”       Mercury     A Day at the Races     2:54
13.     “Play the Game”       Mercury     The Game     3:33
14.     “Flash”       May     Flash Gordon     2:48
15.     “Seven Seas of Rhye”       Mercury     Queen II     2:47
16.     “We Will Rock You”       May     News of the World     2:01
17.     “We Are the Champions”       Mercury     News of the World     2:59

Disc two: Greatest Hits II (1991)

No. |    Title   |  Writer(s)   |  Original album   |  Length
1.     “A Kind of Magic”       Roger Taylor     A Kind of Magic     4:22
2.     “Under Pressure” (with David Bowie)     Queen, David Bowie     Hot Space     3:56
3.     “Radio Ga Ga”       Taylor     The Works     5:43
4.     “I Want It All”       Queen     The Miracle     4:01
5.     “I Want to Break Free”       Deacon     The Works     4:18
6.     “Innuendo”       Queen     Innuendo     6:27
7.     “It’s a Hard Life”       Mercury     The Works     4:09
8.     “Breakthru”       Queen     The Miracle     4:09
9.     “Who Wants to Live Forever”       May     A Kind of Magic     4:57
10.     “Headlong”       Queen     Innuendo     4:33
11.     “The Miracle”       Queen     The Miracle     4:54
12.     “I’m Going Slightly Mad”       Queen     Innuendo     4:07
13.     “The Invisible Man”       Queen     The Miracle     3:58
14.     “Hammer to Fall”       May     The Works     3:40
15.     “Friends Will Be Friends”       Mercury, Deacon     A Kind of Magic     4:07
16.     “The Show Must Go On”       Queen     Innuendo     4:23
17.     “One Vision”       Queen     A Kind of Magic     4:02

Disc three: Greatest Hits III (1999)
No. |    Title   |  Writer(s)   |  Original album   |  Length
1.     “The Show Must Go On” (live at Théâtre National de Chaillot in Paris with Elton John)     Queen           4:35
2.     “Under Pressure” (with David Bowie; rah mix)     Queen, Bowie           4:08
3.     “Barcelona” (performed by Freddie Mercury and Montserrat Caballé)     Mercury, Mike Moran     Barcelona     4:25
4.     “Too Much Love Will Kill You”       May, Frank Musker, Elizabeth Lamers     Made in Heaven     4:18
5.     “Somebody to Love” (live at Wembley Stadium with George Michael)     Mercury     Five Live (EP) 5:07
6.     “You Don’t Fool Me”       Queen     Made in Heaven     5:22
7.     “Heaven for Everyone”       Taylor     Made in Heaven     4:37
8.     “Las Palabras de Amor”       May     Hot Space     4:29
9.     “Driven by You” (performed by Brian May)     May     Back to the Light     4:09
10.     “Living on My Own” (performed by Freddie Mercury)     Mercury     Mr. Bad Guy     3:37
11.     “Let Me Live”       Queen     Made in Heaven     4:45
12.     “The Great Pretender” (The Platters cover)     Buck Ram     The Freddie Mercury Album     3:26
13.     “Princes of the Universe”       Mercury     A Kind of Magic     3:31
14.     “Another One Bites the Dust” (with additional vocals from Wyclef Jean)     Deacon     Small Soldiers     4:20
15.     “No-One but You (Only the Good Die Young)”       May     Queen Rocks     4:11
16.     “These Are the Days of Our Lives”       Queen     Innuendo     4:22
17.     “Thank God It’s Christmas”       Taylor, May     1984 Christmas single     4:19

Album Info

Released     November 13, 2000 (UK)
September 24, 2002 (US)
Recorded     1973 – 1999
Genre     Rock, progressive rock, hard rock, Heavy metal, pop rock
Length     208:12

Resumable Download Links:
Part 1 (56 MB)
Part 2 (62 MB)
Part 3 (88 MB)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s