She & Him

She & Him is an American indie folk band consisting of Zooey Deschanel (vocals, piano, ukulele) and M. Ward (guitar, production). The band’s first album, Volume One, was released on Merge Records in March, 2008. The duo is augmented by session musicians Rachel Blumberg (drums), Mike Mogis (pedal steel guitar, mandolin) and Mike Coykendall (bass, guitar).


This is the musical debut from Zooey Deschanel and M. Ward. Immediately struck by one another’s talents and finding an instant rapport, Zooey let slip that she wrote her own songs which she recorded alone at home on her computer. Somewhat shy about anyone hearing these musical morsels, she eventually sent the demos to Matt who was instantly impressed. They soon reconvened at his Portland studio to begin work.

Embracing the warm sound of early analog recordings, Volume One is more than just a showcase for Zooey’s rich and endearing voice; it’s a distinctive and endlessly charming album. The songs themselves give a respectful nod to the likes of Dusty Springfield, Linda Ronstadt and The Zombies while Matt’s production gives them just the right amount of golden era sheen. Whether Zooey’s channeling Ronnie Spector as on “I Was Made For You” or joining Matt in turning The Beatles “I Should Have Known Better” into a seductive hula guitar duet, the results are always captivating.

Track list:

1.     “Sentimental Heart”       2:36

2.     “Why Do You Let Me Stay Here?”       2:31

3.     “This Is Not a Test”       3:31

4.     “Change Is Hard”       3:03

5.     “I Thought I Saw Your Face Today”       2:50

6.     “Take It Back”       2:37

7.     “I Was Made for You”       2:31

8.     “You Really Got a Hold on Me” (William Robinson, Jr.)     3:59

9.     “Black Hole”       2:12

10.     “Got Me”       2:46

11.     “I Should Have Known Better” (Lennon/McCartney)     3:39

12.     “Sweet Darlin'” (Z. Deschanel/J. Schwartzman)     2:41

13.     “Swing Low, Sweet Chariot” (Traditional)     1:37

Download Full Album :


She & Him released their sophomore album, Volume Two on March 23rd. Written by Zooey Deschanel (She) and produced by M.Ward (Him), Volume Two is the follow up to the duo’s critically acclaimed debut, Volume One. The album includes eleven original tracks and two covers – ‘Ridin’ In My Car’ by NRBQ and Skeeter Davis’ ‘Gonna Get Along Without You Now’.

Described by Zooey as a ‘feel-good album,’ Volume Two is bolstered by rich harmonies, sweet-as-sugar melodies and Brill Building choruses. From sweeping opener ‘Thieves’ and first single ‘In the Sun’ (featuring guest vocals by Tilly and the Wall), to the tempo and mood shifts of ‘Home’ and the vocals-only, hymn-like closer ‘If You Can’t Sleep,’ Volume Two shimmers from start to finish.

Track list:

1. “Thieves” — 4:08

2. “In the Sun” — 2:51

3. “Don’t Look Back” — 3:23

4. “Ridin’ in My Car” (Alan G. Anderson) — 3:15

5. “Lingering Still” — 3:02

6. “Me and You” — 3:20

7. “Gonna Get Along Without You Now” (Milton Kellem) — 2:32

8. “Home” — 4:41

9. “I’m Gonna Make It Better” — 3:32

10. “Sing” — 3:14

11. “Over It Over Again” — 3:30

12. “Brand New Shoes” — 3:05

13. “If You Can’t Sleep” — 2:49

Download Full Album :


Zooey Deschanel – “SUGAR TOWN”
Written by Lee Hazlewood
Sung by Zooey Deschanel

Courtesy of Stingray Music
Taken from “500 Days of Summer (2009)”

Download song:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s